Why I’m a Bad Hunger Games Fan

I’m not ashamed of this, but I know a lot of you hardcore HG people will be very disappointed in me. I want to talk about it though because I find the whole thing very intriguing as it has never happened to me before.

I only read the first book in the Hunger Games trilogy. And you know what? I hated it.

I’m dead serious I HATED The Hunger Games and I knew with absolute certainty that I WOULD NOT finish the trilogy. I am not into dystopias at all. The Hunger Games, Divergent, Brave New World, The Handmaid’s Tale (though it was by far the best of the four) you name it I don’t do dystopias. I just don’t like them. I don’t need everything to be happy and rainbows I even like some tragedy and angst, but when the system is as fundamentally messed up as it is in those stories I just can’t do it. I finished them all, but I never had the slightest inclination to continue on in the series.

But The Hunger Games was worse than the others. Divergent was just trying too hard, Brave New World I don’t even know, and The Handmaid’s Tale had kind of a noncommittal happy ending. See The Hunger Games was just too close for me. I have a younger sister who is about the same age difference from me as Prim and Rue were to Katniss and that just made it that much more disturbing to me. I was revolted and it angered me even more that my little sister loved them so much.

After that, why did I go see the movie? I honestly don’t remember. Maybe it was a date, or I heard good things, or I was hopeful that it would be better than the book, but whatever it was I ended up in that theater a few weeks after it came out. And then I found myself in another theater a few weeks later. And then I found myself reading page after page on the Hunger Games Wiki. I was on fanfiction.net skimming SYOT (Submit Your Own Tribute) stories that were all the rage. I loved it. I loved the movie, I loved the story, and I was writing my own.

I can’t explain why it happened, but I am really glad it did because my Hunger Games story is one of my all time favorites (and I finished it!). I took the idea from the SYOT stories on fanfiction.net but instead of asking for character submissions, I made 24 children of my own and used a random number generator to determine which order they would die in. I experimented with different storytelling techniques and that one story expanded my writing in a big way.

“What happened to how disgusted you were by the book Verity?” Good question, and if you figure out the answer tell me because I would like to know as well.

Oh, and no I never read Catching Fire and Mockingjay and no, I never wanted to.

Leave a Reply

