Divergent: My Opinions

I finally got around to watching the long version of the Divergent trailer (see above) today and I am very conflicted about it. Sometime last year I read the book but stopped after reading the first one because, as I found out when I read The Hunger Games, dystopias really aren’t my thing. I read the book because of a recommendation and I was quite disappointed by it. The idea was fascinating and interesting to think about but I didn’t find the characters to be at all relatable and the plot seemed somewhat contrived. It seemed like Roth really wanted to build suspense and tried her hardest but it just didn’t do it for me. For most of the story I felt like she was just throwing random things at me to try to keep me interested. It wasn’t a bad book, but definitely wasn’t my style so I didn’t have any inclination to read the rest of the series. As soon as I finished I promptly put it away and forgot all about it, despite its popularity.

I had heard idle chatter about the movie coming out, but I didn’t pay attention until after the start of this year when I saw one of the teaser trailers. Today, after several days of forgetting to, I looked up the full length trailer for Divergent. I was hoping that it would turn out the same as The Hunger Games did, where I absolutely hated the book but instantly became obsessed with the story once the movie came out, but so far the trailers have been disappointing. It looks mildly interesting and I still like the idea of the factions and how it seems like a good idea but obviously doesn’t work. However the weird romance between Tris and Four feels awkward and, unlike The Hunger Games which (I still can’t believe I’m saying this) took a book and made it better, it looks like it took the book and added emotionless actors.

But, I’ll try to keep an open mind when I see it next month. Who knows, Divergent could be the next Hunger Games.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

